Qatar 2022: Australia enters the World Cup in an agonizing way |  Video

There is joy in Sydney; sadness in Lima…

The Peru National Team was left out of Qatar World Cup 2022, after losing 5-4 to Australia, in a penalty shootout, after equalizing goalless in regular time and extended, match corresponding to the intercontinental playoff held this Monday at the Rayyan Stadium in Doha.

In the decisive instance the goalkeeper shone Andrew Redmayne, who took the place of Matthew David Ryan for penalties, and saved the shot from alex valera, already in sudden death, after the success of Awer Bul Mabil. That’s where history was written.

The Socceroos opened the penalty shootout with the ruling of Martin Boyleshot saved by the goalkeeper Pedro Gallesebut they recomposed the way with the successes of Aaron Frank Mooy, Craig Alexander Goodwin, Ajdin Hrustic, Jamie Maclaren, and Awer Bul Mabil.

While, the redhead started better with the successes of Gianluca Lapadula and Alexander Martin Callens; while, Luis Jan Piers Advincula missed hitting the post. LaterRenato Fabrizio Tapia and Edison Michael Flores gave hope to the South Americans, until alex valeraforced to carry out his execution in order to stay alive, handed over his shot to Redmayne.

Sentenced the reclassification duel, the Argentine coach Ricardo Garecastated:

Only words of thanks to the fans, a crowd came, we couldn’t give them the joy of qualifying for the World Cup, so very hurt.

With the loss, the Peruvian dream of reaching its second consecutive World Cup was cut short, after his return to the top event in Russia 2018 that put an end to 36 years of absence.

See also  Jay Leno, Adam Carolla to Give Crash Course in Comedy at New Camp for Aspiring Comics, TV Writers

Australiawho qualified his sixth World Cup in its history and fifth in a row since the competition played in Germany in 2006, will integrate the Group D with France, Denmark and Tunisia.

the australian striker Mitchell Duke commented.

It was intense, I’ve never been in a situation like that. You have to give everyone credit, they didn’t take us into account, we broke our hearts, I’m speechless, proud of my teammates. This is for Australia.

Peru agreed to the playoff with Australia when staying in the fifth place in the South American qualifiers (Conmebol)in which Brazil, Argentina, Ecuador and Uruguayand they achieved their classification directly.

In the match played at the Al Rayyan stadium in Qatar, Peru tried to impose its characteristic ball control game, while Australia proposed a more orderly and physical gamewith moments of high pressure on the rival start.

After a first time safely over the goals, Peru played more directly in the complement and had approaches to the goal defended by Matthew Ryan.

Australia He had his best goalscoring opportunities with shots from Aziz Behich and Ajdin Hrustic that they demanded from the goal Pedro Gallese.

in overtime, the Peruvian team regained dominance and created several opportunities, but he had no aim to break the zero.

The clearest chance of the match It was at minute 107 through a header from edison flowers who gave in the left post base and it went off course.

Peru represented the South American Confederation, while Australia reached the play-off for the Asian tie.

See also  'Deadpool' Movies and 'Logan' to Debut on Disney+ Friday

Intercontinental Repechage
Australia 0-0 Peru (penalties, 4-5)
Stadium: Al Rayyan Stadium
Headquarters: Doha, Qatar
Referee: Slavko Vincic (Slovenia)
Australia: Martin Boyle (fumbled, saved), Aaron Frank Mooy, Craig Alexander Goodwin, Ajdin Hrustic, Jamie Maclaren, Awer Bul Mabil.
Peru: Gianluca Lapadula, Alexander Martín Callens, Luis Jan Piers Advíncula (missed, post), Renato Fabrizio Tapia, Edison Michael Flores, Alex Valera (missed, saved).

Matt Ryan
(Andrew Redmayne, 120′)
Kye Rowles
Bailey Wright
Aaron Mooy
Aziz Behich
(Craig Goodwin, 120′)
Nathaniel Atkinson (Yellow, 12′)
(Fran Karacic, 90′)
jackson irvine
Ajdin Hrustic
Mathew Leckie
(Jamie Maclaren, 87′)
Martin Boyle
Mitch Duke
(Awer Mabil, 69′)
DT: Graham Arnold

Pedro Gallese
alexander callens
Carlos Zambrano
Renato Tapia
Miguel Trauco
Luis Advincula
Christofer Gonzales
Sergio Pena
(Peter Aquino, 80′)
christian cave
(Alex Valera, 116′)
Andre Carrillo
(Edison Flores, 65′) (Yellow, 102′)
Gianluca Lapadula
DT: Ricardo Gareca

(With information from Reuters)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *